Vintage: turtles, angels, prohibition, the night sky, and a bus stop

Going through some stuff I have at my parent’s house, I started to venture into my box of art projects from middle school and high school. It was interesting to look through my art projects and get a glimpse into what was important in my life then. It is apparent that turtles have been an important part of my life since at least 1990.

Turtle drawing, 1990

I remember doing collage type projects and making greeting cards for as long as I can remember. My mom used to save all of the Christmas cards and birthday cards and I would cut them up and make new cards. Many a home-made doll house was decorated with scraps of greeting cards. I also loved cutting out pictures from magazines. I would tape the pictures into collages onto my notebooks and binders for school.

magazine clippings for collage projects

The best was Victoria Magazine. I liked it best for all the fresh looking interior decorating, the colors, and most of all, the flowers. In going through my arts and crafts boxes, I found plastic ziplock bags of magazine clippings, organized by theme and purpose.

Later on in middle school, I still had a turtle thing going on…

turtle paintings – acrylic on cardboard

multi-media 3-D turtle painting

There were drawings of fairies and angels and forests. I took an introduction to painting and drawing class in 9th grade and I have a lot of pieces where I had to do shading and vantage point, straight lines, objects, and some people. Throughout the years, it is pretty clear that I was more of the kind of kid who colored out of the lines. I am much more comfortable in my own world of colors and images and vantage points that don’t follow the directions.

flowers and a dragon

Another cool thing I found was a xerox copy of a page from an art textbook that was talking about a painter who was struggling in school with understanding all of the theories of art. Then he saw a painting of Matisse and had an epiphany. He saw that Matisse did not follow tradition and theories. So then, this artist found himself by painting what he wanted with lots of colors and different scenes. He was much happier, and it didn’t matter to him if the houses weren’t at the correct vantage point, or if his scenes weren’t anatomically correct. By letting himself free of the confines of tradition and theory, he was able to fully express himself through his art.

Here is more of EmaBee’s VINTAGE collection:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

