Inspriation Journals

Going through my stuff at my parents’ house, I came across journals that I wrote in sporadically starting in the second grade. As I got older, the journals, which started as more diaries of my daily life, shifted into inspiration journals.

To start off, I would decorate a plain composition book with different colored patterned paper, puff paint, magazine clippings, or drawings. Then, in the pages, I would write my own poetry, paste magazine clippings, paste photo copies of my favorite passages from books and novels, and other peoples’ poetry in the pages.

through high school I had a set of five inspiration journals that I called "Esperanza" ("hope" in Spanish). I started them in 2002, and then it tapered off when I started college in 2004.

through high school I had a set of five inspiration journals that I called “Esperanza” (“hope” in Spanish). I started them in 2002, and then it tapered off when I started college in 2004.

collages and stickers

collages and stickers; the journal on the right I started in 1993 (elementary school), and the other two are from middle school

here is my nickname EmaBee

here is my nickname EmaBee in my elementary school journal

Also some passages from my history text books, and literature assignments. I would sometimes draw or paint pictures to go along with poetry that I wrote.

poetry and paintings

poetry and paintings

my poem and painting

my poem and painting

Looking back through all of these brought back memories from the time, and also further proved to me that I have had burning creativity throughout my whole life. I was inspired by my earlier work. It made me realize how important it was to me to have a creative outlet. These inspiration journals are such a treasure! It has gotten me into thinking of getting back into doing these again.

My grandpa sure was right on when he gave me the nickname of “EmaBee.”

Do (did) you keep diaries or journals? What are (were) they like?

Here are some of the pages from these inspiration journals:

One response to “Inspriation Journals

Leave a Reply

