If I Keep Walking in the Woods Forever…

amelia, va

Amelia, Virginia

I am walking in the woods.
And I keep walking.
I could walk forever, one step in front of the other,
and the woods would continue before me into infinity.
But I wouldn’t keep walking forever,
because as I walk, my pace would gradually slow.
Branches and vines and leaves would reach out for me
and try to hold on, slowing me down.
Gently reaching out and touching softly, beckoning.
Soon, I would be walking so slow, no one could hardly notice
I was moving at all (but there is no one there to notice anyway).
Animals would live their lives, not noticing me,
seeing me as another tree, or bush,
Just a part of the forest.
The grass would start to grow around my feet,
and the vines and leaves would start to surround me.
After a while, you would not even be able to see much of me
because of the green, lush life enveloping me.
My heart would start to beat to the rhythm of the deer hoofs on their padded down trails
sinking into rich black soil.
The blood in my veins would start to flow in time with the birds’ songs.
My breathing would echo the chipmunk scratching leaves and twigs to make a nest.
Soon, you wouldn’t be able to find me if you came out looking for me.
Then, I will have returned from where I came.

2 responses to “If I Keep Walking in the Woods Forever…

  1. Pingback: Reporting Back: Gallery Opening and Poetry Reading | EmaBee's Art·

  2. Pingback: Civil War Soldier Graves | EmaBee's Art·

Leave a Reply

