View of the Creation Station: Water Colors and New Supplies

Things have been busy at the creation – working on a custom order for 30 birthday cards and book marks, and testing out new water color ideas and new supplies.

Grade-school art classes are coming back to me as I experiment with watercolors, trying to remember the different techniques like painting the wash first, wetting the paper vs. dry paper, and blending colors. It’s amazing the stuff that stays with you over the years, sometimes you just have to dig for it.

I went to Ollie’s Bargain Outlet  (a family favorite) last week and found some great prices on canvases (!!) and watercolor and drawing paper. I also got new scissors (in heaven), a new paper cutter that doesn’t chew up the paper, and a protractor/compass set! – All for under $30! I had to resist getting a shopping cart. Needless to say, I am excited to use the new supplies.

testing out new water color ideas - as you can see Im pretty stuck on sailboats and trees

Testing out new water color ideas and supplies- as you can see I’m pretty stuck on sailboats and trees. My partner Alex is insisting we keep the sailboat/tree one for ourselves. I guess I agree with him.

view of the creation station and jamming to some pandora radio tunes- right now it's the Ludovico Einaudi station

View of the creation station with water colors and new supplies — jamming to some pandora radio tunes- right now it’s the “Ludovico Einaudi” station

Leave a Reply

