Presence of “the mountain” and art

view from el Morado Glacier National Park outside of Santiago, Chile - 2006 (c) Emily A. Willard

view from el Morado Glacier National Park outside of Santiago, Chile – 2006 (c) Emily A. Willard

Since the end of last year, when I think about writing, painting…creating…I keep having this image of a mountain in my mind…but more than just an image, it is a feeling. A feeling deep inside of me. Hence, the two poems – “There is a Mountain” and “Discovery of Light.”

It is definitely a big presence, and I have been trying to determine what it is through my art – mostly writing up to this point. I want to be able to paint or draw or build it eventually.

It is big and is pretty much all there is; there is no turning back or going around. But I don’t see it as an end, more of an obstacle (as in “There is a Mountain”) – however there is a lot of weight and darkness, sorrow and pain – deep, and uncertainty. I am unsure of from where it originates, or what it means, or why it is there. The fact that it feels like an obstacle and not and end is hopeful. Hope. Hope of brighter days and overcoming “the mountain.”

One of the reasons I love art – whether it be through the pen or pencil or lens or brush – is that it allows you to put your innermost substances onto paper for you (and maybe others) to see. I believe it helps you better understand yourself and the universe around you.

What a wonderful gift–to be able to create art.

—–

Check out this blog on Personal Art Therapy written by a really cool lady in Kentucky of Run2theWild! She is running a Sketchbook Workshop to help people connect with their inner substances and learn about themselves.

Leave a Reply

