Creative Solutions – Painted Book Cover

awesome book

awesome book

When a great gift idea didn’t go as I expected, I got creative and the great gift became even cooler…

On a work trip to Boston in January, I stayed with an friend from college, and she gave me a book, “Practicing Peace in Times of War,” by Pema Chödrön. Really. great. book. like, awesome. So, I got copies for my dad and for my brother on Amazon. I like sharing used books because I think it’s a great way to recycle, and to save some money – but it’s dicey when buying as gifts for others because you really don’t know what you are going to get.

ugly sticker

ugly sticker

 

 

So, the books arrived. I must have missed the remark about no dust jackets – oops. But then on the back were these huge ugly “used book” stickers that wouldn’t come off unless I tore apart the whole cover. Grumble! I was really bummed. There is no way I can gift these wonderful (on the inside) books with such ugly covers!

Then, laying in bed one night, it occurred to me. Wow, that blank white/grey ugly covers of those books sure do look like blank canvases WAITING to be created upon.

So I did some experimental sketching and noting color ideas….

sketch out some ideas

sketch out some ideas

And then I finally got to painting!

finished product

finished product

I tried some experiments with colored paper squares, but I didn’t like the way it was working out so I nixed the idea and went for ribbon instead. I used a toothpick to draw some of the fine lines, and puff paint for the glittery stars. I would have done things a little differently if I could start over, but learned many things and would totally try this again.

Lesson: If life gives you lemons – get creative and make lemonade! (sorry to be so cliche)

close up of eye on book for dad

close up of eye on book for dad

back covers

back covers

close up of tree on book for bro

close up of tree on book for bro

Leave a Reply

