The Italian Adventure: Polyxena

italian market delight

italian market delight

In June, I went to Italy for the first time for a work conference, and I guess really didn’t know what to expect. I am a Latin American-ist and spent most of my university education obsessing with everything “South of the Border.” So, even though I took AP Modern Euro in high school, I was not prepared for the, shall we say, richness that was Italy. I did not do my background reading and didn’t know what I was looking at most of the time. I was traveling alone, and did not have much time beyond the work conference. It is the first time I was traveling completely alone in a country that I did not speak the language. I ate some memorably good pasta (and HORRIBLE pizza); got the cliche picture with the Leaning Tower; went to the Uffizi, David, and Duomo in Florence; and drank a lot of wine in San Rocco di Pilli. One of the most memorable pieces of my trip was stumbling upon the Loggia dei Lanzi and photographing the “Rape of Polyxena.” I mean, stupendous.

I listened into a guide explain to a tour group about the artistic movement away from making sculptures with just a front viewpoint; this was a sculpture that had many vantage points. I was mesmerized by the violence, emotion, action, symbolism, and artistry and totally got drawn into this sculpture.

See what I am talking about:

full

distant observer

tears

tears

toe

the big toe

full looking

the look

looking at you

looking at you

looking closer

looking closer

looking even closer

locked in

One response to “The Italian Adventure: Polyxena

  1. Pingback: The Italian Adventure: Tractors & Wild Flowers | EmaBee's Art·

Leave a Reply

