Pen & Ink with Watercolor Creations

“One Love, One Heart, let’s get together and feel alright.”

-Bob Marley

I am super excited about my new pigment ink pens for drawing. This morning I had an idea of something I wanted to make [see “One Love” card below], and I wondered if there was such a thing as a waterproof pen for drawing, and in different thicknesses – lo-and-behold, I found such a thing! 4 different thicknesses, waterproof on paper, and fast drying 🙂 This helpful article explained how “pigment” inks have tiny specks of pigment that bind to the paper fibers, more so than regular ink pens, making it waterproof!

german waterproof pigment pens

german waterproof pigment ink pens

I have been muddling over a few ideas of a card to make for a friend who just got married. I knew I wanted to do a pen&ink kind of drawing, and then with some added color. These two pieces gave me some inspiration:

flower card pack

flower card pack

old fairy tale illustrations

old fairy tale illustrations

and of course:

bob marley

Bob Marley’s “One Love”

I wanted waterproof pens so I could add watercolor later. I have tried this in the past, but used a fine-tip permanent marker. In this case, I wanted something more fine tipped. These pens did not smudge or bleed, even when I did a heavy, wet wash of light blue for the background.

onelove

Then, I researched a bit to figure out how to flatten the watercolor since I had saturated it with so much water for the wash. This great blog entry answered my question in a jiffy, with great results – I used the dry iron.

finished product - one love card - two original paintings/drawings

finished product – one love card – two original paintings/drawings

You can buy one on Etsy, here!

 

Leave a Reply

