Finished Clay Projects – Part 1

I can’t believe it has taken this long to process everything, then sit on my camera for a few weeks, and now finally here. I think I mentioned at one point how working with clay is so fun because you never know exactly what you were going to get. The day the kiln is unloaded is a bit like Christmas because everything is a surprise. (Especially when you are just starting to get to know all of the glazes and techniques, etc.)

I certainly didn’t know what I was going to get, and some things came out a lot different than I had imagined but I am overall super excited to build on what I learned and do more! I just signed up for the next session that will take me through mid-May 🙂

.trivets. Sgraffito red flower with matte finish glaze; Peacock feather; Imprint of hemlock tree branch planted by my great-grandpa with seamist green glaze. I have cork to put on the back as padding, and I want to make a slim wood frame to put around the edges of the trivets to protect the edges from chips.

***

.hemlock imprinted small dishes. my mom says they have a retro 1970s look, reminds her of her childhood, particularly the color which is a single layer of seamist green, a single layer of turquoise, and a single layer of clear gloss.
(I will have to do a separate post on the whole collection I am developing) 😀

hemlock dishes

***

.test tiles. Our teacher recommended that we experiment with different techniques, colors, and glazes. So I did  a set of test tiles.

Row 1: spring green underglaze with celadon cover-coat gloss; leaf green underglaze with celadon cover-coat gloss; leaf green underglaze with turquoise cover coat gloss; leaf green underglaze with clear cover-coat gloss.
Row 2: bright blue underglaze with turquoise cover-coat gloss; leaf green underglaze with seamist cover-coat gloss; leaf green underglaze with celadon cover-coat gloss; seamist green cover-coat gloss.
Row 3: turquoise underglaze with celadon cover-coat gloss; leaf green underglaze with turquoise cover coat gloss; leaf green underglaze with seamist cover-coat gloss; yellow and leaf green underglaze with celadon cover-coat gloss

For the hemlock imprints, I like the leaf green underglaze with seamist cover-coat gloss and leaf green underglaze with celadon cover-coat gloss best.

test tiles

***

.pendants. Experimenting with clay pendants – hemlock imprints, sgraffito, painting nature scenes. And a little green tray that wanted to be a butter dish but didn’t quite make it, in bottle green cover-coat gloss.

pendants

***

.rose stencil carving. This one I by far spent the most time working on, and was the most excited for, however with such high expectations, I am probably the least happy with it. First, I wish the shading of the brown/red to orange and yellow would have been more clear and detailed. Second, I was not exactly sure what the background color would be – I thought it would be more of a deep turquoise green, but it turned out more blue, and the turquoise cover coat gloss didn’t really seem to do much. Also, the red outline looks gaudy and misplaced – also that I didn’t put enough on so it is spotty in places. I almost like it better in flat grey :-/
oh well, I learned a few things so not all is lost

rose stencil

Leave a Reply

