The Girl in the Walls

hidee's mermaid face

Hidee’s painting of the mermaid face

The Girl in the Walls

Quiet beings exist
in spacious rooms
lumbering about
awaiting the brilliance
of dawn.

Their silent voices
ring out
to greet the day.

Their fingers caress
unknowing arms
but, it is felt within.

 

Written many years ago, revived recently.
Inspired by a favorite childhood book, “The Woman in the Wall,” by Patrice Kind

An excerpt from a poem also somewhat influenced by the same book…written many years ago, revived recently. (Apologies for the darkness of the subject matter.)

“…I would slink from corner to corner,
shadow to shadow.
It got worse as time went on.
The shadows got darker,
and the corners got more secluded.
I could feel the world slipping by me.

I felt myself soak into the wallpaper,
the carpet,
the sofa I was slunched over in.
When I spoke, nothing came out of my mouth.
Everything began to get dull and dark.
The sun lost its brilliance…”

 

By: EAW, a.k.a. EmaBee

Leave a Reply

