Adventures: Bangkok, Thailand

I haven’t posted anything on Bangkok yet, even though I’ve been here for a week now because I am struggling in different ways:

1) finding good photo subject matter. I’m used to this being easy, so many beautiful things at home I have to stop myself from taking too many pictures. Here, in an asphalt and concrete city, I have to look a lot harder, and spend more time.

2) I’m also really busy with orientation, class, events, that I am having to force myself to sit down and do reading, writing, and painting. Today was the first day I actually got to relax a bit.

3) processing all of my feelings and experiences – lots of heavy stuff with the subject matter (conflict, violence, genocide), missing important things at home like birthdays, weddings, ordination, and dealing with the new culture here – language, traffic rules, food, smells…
A perfect example is even if I do find a good photo opportunity, I’m weary of traffic and being so obviously a tourist. I’m working to get over that. Here’s a photo I looped back around a corner to get after thinking about it for a while, but basically had to stand in the middle of the street so couldn’t get the lighting right…

20140615-225538-82538498.jpg

Also, you can see the pollution is pretty bad. I’ll keep working at it…

3 responses to “Adventures: Bangkok, Thailand

  1. Pingback: PEACE ART: *creating* a vision of peace | EmaBee's Art·

Leave a Reply

