When Did I Forget to Remember?

When did I forget to remember fireflies?
The beacon of summer freedom
Dusky woods
Blinking lights
Yellow glowing magic nights
Sweet, pungent freedom nights
Racing heart speeding through
Dewy grass
Lightening bugs
Thunderstorm electricity in the air
I’m lady liberty
Watermelon sticky fingers
Pink cheeks
Hungry for the freedom
Of warm glowing magic nights
20140707-135039-49839003.jpg
~~~*~~~*~~~*~~~*~~~*~~~*~~~

When did I forget to remember fireflies, eagerly anticipating the first signs of summer and the end if the school year? Fireflies were the first signs of freedom that had me on the edge if my chair, counting down the days to summer vacation which would be filled with weeks and weeks of exploring the woods, streams and swamps, and art projects, adventure games with cousins. I should never grow so old and boring that I forget about fireflies and other small things

~~~*~~~*~~~*~~~*~~~*~~~*~~~
p.s. I found these lights at the market the other day, reminds me of fireflies, and the flower is one of my favorites here in Thailand.

One response to “When Did I Forget to Remember?

Leave a Reply

