Quiet, Precious Wildness of the Soul

An excerpt from “Let Your Life Speak: Listening for the Voice of Vocation” by Parker Palmer:

“The soul is like a wild animal — tough, resilient, savvy, self-sufficient, and yet exceedingly shy. If we want to see a wild animal, the last thing we should do is go crashing through the woods, shouting for the creature to come out. But if we are willing to walk quietly into the woods and sit silently for an hour or two at the base of a tree, the creature we are waiting for may well emerge, and out of the corner of an eye we will catch a glimpse of the precious wildness we seek …

… It is silence that forever invites us to fathom the meaning of our lives — and forever reminds us of depths of meaning that words will never touch.”

*~~*~~~*~*~**~*~~*~*~*~*~~****~~

20140720-140622-50782931.jpg
(Photo: pond lily in Chiang Mai, Thailand)

This passage resonated for me today for many reasons. My dad recommended this book while having an impromptu three way conversation with my brother who just moved to Albany, NY for a new job, my dad who is in Xela, Guatemala for 8 weeks doing peace work, and me in Bangkok, Thailand doing the Rotary Peace Fellowship. It was unplanned and kind of by accident as we all randomly called each other at almost the same time. It left my heart feeling immensely full.

Yesterday, my co-fellow friend reiki for me and I had a vision of myself (which I’ve had before). I’m alone in a jungle – senses super heightened, leaves, animals and bugs all around. I’ve got a pack of the bare necessities, good sandals, and a machete I am using to make my way through the dense undergrowth. My muscles are strong and tense I am aware of every peep and rustle in the leaves around me. The feeling of peace and self-sufficiency is profound. This vision always reminds me of my inner strength and promise. Maybe it is the precious wildness of my soul 🙂

Leave a Reply

