Glass Blowing by Hand

Another one of my many favorite things about Maryland is the yearly Rennaisance Festival, which has been around for almost 40 years. My favorite part of the Renn Fest, other then the snake bites (1/2 cider 1/2 lager adult beverage) and turkey legs, is the glass blowing demonstrations by Foster Holcombe of “Art of Fire”

Fantastic fine art and handcraft. I love the colors and the craft, which has been passed down for thousands of years. The patience and skill that goes into hand-blowing glass is impressive.

I like the different techniques, like using water to add crackle, adding chips of glass for the speckled look, and the chemistry of adding different elements to make the different colors: copper= red and green; cobalt=blue; titanium=white; gold=pink; and magnesium=dark red and purple.

I am so interested to try one day, and see what the flexibility of the hot glass feels like when you mold it – the properties of it seem like nothing else in the art world….
If I was a cat with nine lives, for one of them I would be Mr. Holcombe’s glassblowing apprentice 🙂

IMG_5491.JPG

IMG_5495.JPG

IMG_5502.JPG

IMG_5506.JPG

IMG_5501.JPG

IMG_5508.JPG

One response to “Glass Blowing by Hand

  1. Glass blowing has long been of my favorite art forms. One of these days I’m going to take classes to learn how to do it.

Leave a Reply

