Annapolis Autumn Flower Portriats

This weekend is a special weekend in Annapolis. You either love it or you hate it. It’s the annual Sailboat Show, a.k.a. Boat Show a.k.a. tourist-take-over a.k.a. traffic nightmare – unless you are a sailboat enthusiast, then it’s the most exciting weekend of the year in our beloved “Naptown” – the sailing capital of the world.

I don’t know what I was thinking, but I ventured downtown to get some ice-cream, get out of the house after a long day of reading, watching the West-Wing, and painting at the creation station.

Even though my grandfather and great-grandfather built boats on the Chesapeake, I’m not super huge boat person – at least not one that would go to the Boat Show. It has been my aim in life, not to own a sail boat, but to have friends that own sail boats (or have access to them) because, I won’t at all lie, the best way to experience the bay is motor-less and by the will of the wind…It must be in my blood from the years of toiling under the sun to provide up-keep to boats, since my dad, we haven’t owned one ourselves.

Instead of the boat show, I enjoyed some ice-cream by a the very local Storm Brother’s Ice Cream Factory down on City Dock – been here for almost 40 years. I then went and took portraits of the flowers around downtown Annapolis.

Even for mid-Autumn, the colors were gorgeous, especially with the fresh raindrops….even on a gloomy, grey day this city can be beautiful….

Leave a Reply

