Dead Lotus In Winter

Who would have thought dead and rotting lotus flowers would be so fun to photograph, and be so, beautiful? (??!) beauty in death…and eventual rebirth? Hope?

These are at the Kenilworth Park & Aquatic Gardens in south-east Washington, D.C., described as “an age old dance [of] wind, water, and land.”

I had some time to kill the other day and had always wanted to go to these gardens, and I definitely needed to find some peace amid the bustle of the D.C. beltway area. It was one of the first warm days of the year, almost spring, and I needed to be outside, out of the fluorescent lights and piles of dead trees (paper) which on them record the failures of us humans to love and care for, and protect each other — (for my day job, I research genocide).

I walked deep into the dead gardens, found a sunny spot on a wooden walkway, and allowed the stress and pain to drain away, and I sunk into the earth, and the earth and sun and air refilled me. 



kenilworth gardens lotus



dead winter lotus



snow lotus



Leave a Reply

