Transition, reading, writing

I am eager to settle into my new apartment (moved 2 weeks ago), reorganize art supplies, and set up new Creation Station now that I have more space and a new desk (I’m really proud of my super simple $35 ikea table).

I feel like I have somehow finally arrived to a space that I have been seeking for a very long time, and an unfolding is taking place. 

I’m rediscovering an energy and reclaiming a freedom of being. 

My father recently shared about a similar experience of the unearthing of a long-buried sense of being and freedom and שכינה–or shechinah–the “indwelling presence of God.” Shechinah is one of my favorite concepts; though I would take it slightly further and argue that this is the spark within us that connects us to everything in the universe, especially other living things, and is the true essence of ourselves. Every moment of every day is an opportunity to walk closer to and honor this inner essence, and is a way to walk closer toward each other and the earth (seen and unseen) around us. I feel like I have taken one more step in this direction.

This walk, this journey, is rocky and perilous, and can sometimes feel so lonely. But every day I wake up, I try to be grateful for another day to keep trying, breathing, loving, and learning. 

Today I am grateful for love, reading, writing, coffee, and a piece of peace. This moment.

Writing? Love poetry

Reading? “The Road Less Traveled” by M. Scott Peck and “Islamic Mystical Poetry” ed. Mahmood Jamal and the Bible.

  

3 responses to “Transition, reading, writing

  1. Pingback: What’s Up at New Creation Station | EmaBee's Art·

Leave a Reply

