What’s been going on at the creation station…

nice new acrylics

Spent several hours yesterday in the art store selecting nice new acrylics. I’ve grown up using the small $0.50 bottles, but decided to step it up – my friend is going to teach me some new painting techniques and I wanted to have nice paint for it. The person at the store was super kind and patient with us and our 1000 questions we bestowed upon her. I decided to just go with the basic colors and mix pretty much everything on my own, so I got good mixing colors (thought just realized writing this post that I got the cadmium red hue which is artificial coloring and not so good at mixing. I need to get regular red — not hue — but they are much more expensive so we shall see.) I also got a green (not primary color) because she said that people often have a hard time mixing green without making it muddy, and since I use a lot of green, I decided to just buy it. I am excited to see what I come up with. I’ve been working with watercolors primarily the past few years and haven’t done much with acrylic at all recently…

creation station watercolors

The other night I was working with watercolors and made a psychedelic valentines snail for my cousin. I’ve been having a lot of fun painting Millie Marotta’s illustrations. I am still in that place of not feeling super creative that I want to create my own things, but more of needing to follow someone else’s lead.

 

 

psychadelic valentine’s snail

I have been getting better painting these though. The first couple ones I did with colored pencil didn’t turn out good at all. Then I switched to watercolor, and used less colors and did less detail. I realized that the illustration already has so much detail, I just had to do more simple things with the colors, using fewer, and more strategically. I’m pretty happy with the snail.

Cubby cat

And I have my buddy always keeping an eye on things, Cubby listening to Bob Marley on his imaginary cat headphones. He and his brother really are the best little fur buddies.

 

 

Leave a Reply

